Innokin Klypse range, which version to pick for a tight MTL draw
Ask for an Innokin Klypse in a UK vape shop and the reply is often a question. The name now covers at least five devices, and they differ in battery, power and the way the airflow is set. Retail listings sometimes borrow figures from one model and print them under another, and the auto-draw that defines the range does not behave the same way on every version. Before picking one, it helps to know exactly what each Klypse does.
Which Innokin Klypse to choose, the short answer
For a tight mouth-to-lung draw with nothing to adjust, the original Klypse is still the most direct option. It runs its 0.8 ohm pod at a fixed 16 W and has no buttons at all.
Our pick, though, is the Klypse Plus. It keeps the button-free design, adds adjustable airflow and an 1800 mAh battery, and drives each pod value at a constant output chosen by Innokin. You can tighten the draw yourself without ever opening a menu.
The Klypse Pro suits vapers who want to set the wattage, from 6 to 25 W, and switch the device off between uses. The Mecha goes further with a round screen, a rotating button and an adjustable cut-off. The Klypse Zip is a separate compact design, and its product page never says it shares pods with the rest of the family.
The Klypse versions side by side, from Innokin’s specs
Every figure below comes from Innokin’s own product pages and user manuals. Retailers sometimes mix two versions on one listing, which explains some of the discrepancies seen from one listing to the next.
| Version | Battery | Power | Airflow | Controls | Charging |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Klypse | 700 mAh | 16 W with the 0.8 ohm pod | fixed | no buttons | USB-C at 1 A, under an hour |
| Klypse Plus | 1800 mAh | constant, 12, 16 or 22 W by pod | adjustable | no buttons | USB-C at 2 A, 80% in 30 minutes |
| Klypse Pro | 1000 mAh | adjustable, 6 to 25 W | adjustable | one button, side screen | USB-C at 1 A |
| Klypse Mecha | 900 mAh | adjustable, 6 to 18 W, in watts or volts | adjustable | rotating button, round OLED screen | USB-C at 0.8 A |
| Klypse Zip | 650 mAh | 14.5 W with 0.8 ohm, 10 W with 1.2 ohm | not stated | side LED | not stated |
The first four models use 2 ml side-filled pods, a capacity that already matches the UK legal maximum for a refillable pod. On the Mecha, the device recognises the pod fitted and blocks any wattage above the recommended limit for it, which protects a 1.2 ohm pod from being run too hard by mistake.
Innokin Klypse pods move between devices
Innokin describes its Klypse pods as compatible across the series. The Pro page mentions all Klypse pods, the Mecha page names the earlier 0.8 and 1.2 ohm pods, and the Plus page states that both the original pod and the upgraded Klypse Pod V2 work on every device in the range. What changes is the power each device sends to them.
| Pod | Klypse | Klypse Plus | Klypse Pro | Klypse Mecha |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 0.6 ohm | not documented | 22 W | 20 to 22 W | 6 to 18 W |
| 0.8 ohm | 16 W | 16 W | 12 to 13 W | 6 to 14 W |
| 1.2 ohm | not documented | 12 W | 11 to 12 W | 6 to 11 W |
For the Pro, the product page gives an optimal power, while the printed manual allows a wider range, up to 15 W with the 0.8 ohm pod. Read the first as the recommended setting and the second as the device limit. The same pod-by-pod logic applies to other brands, as our guide to which Vaporesso pods fit which device shows.
For a tight MTL draw, the 0.8 ohm pod remains the reference value, because it is the only one Innokin rates on all four devices. The 1.2 ohm pod needs the least power wherever it is listed. The 0.6 ohm pod asks for almost twice as much as the 1.2 ohm, 22 W against 12 W on the Plus.
Getting auto-draw right
On a Klypse, the coil fires as soon as the device senses an inhale. Four habits, all taken from Innokin’s manuals, help avoid problems that are often wrongly blamed on the battery or the pod.
Wait five minutes after the first fill
The manuals for the Klypse, Pro, Plus and Mecha all ask you to wait at least five minutes after filling a new pod. That pause lets the cotton soak through. Inhaling sooner heats a wick that is still dry, and the taste it leaves behind does not go away.
Draw slowly and stay under ten seconds
A slow, steady inhale is enough to start the coil. Beyond ten seconds, the Klypse, the Pro and the Plus cut the draw as a safety measure, and the Pro and Plus manuals say the light flashes ten times when that happens. The Mecha lets you set this cut-off anywhere from 3 to 10 seconds in its menu.
Keep the pod a third full and the contacts dry
Innokin advises never letting a pod drop below a third of its capacity, around 0.7 ml out of 2 ml, and never inhaling on an empty pod. The same instructions ask for clean contacts, with no e-liquid residue between the pod and the device.
Switch the Pro and Mecha off when not in use
The Pro and the Mecha power on and off with three presses within two seconds, and the Pro manual recommends switching it off when it is not being used. The Klypse and the Plus have no button, so they are always ready. Their magnetic cap keeps dust off the mouthpiece and clips to the base while you vape.
Reading the lights before you charge
The light signals differ between versions, and the same flash does not mean the same thing everywhere. On the original Klypse, the light stays white above 10% battery and flashes ten times below it. On the Plus and the Pro, it moves from green to yellow under 30%, then to red under 10%.
While charging, the original Klypse shows a white light that goes out when full. The Plus stays red below 90%, then turns green between 90 and 99%. For storage, the Klypse manual advises against leaving it with a flat battery and suggests keeping it at least half charged when unused. The Pro manual warns against leaving it below 10% or above 90% for long periods.
FAQ
The practical questions that come up once a Klypse is in hand.
How long does a Klypse take to charge?
Innokin quotes a full charge in under an hour for the original Klypse, thanks to 1 A USB-C charging. The Plus charges at 2 A and reaches 80% in 30 minutes, according to the manufacturer. The Pro and Mecha pages give no charging time.
How do I fill a Klypse pod without spilling?
Take the pod out of the device, pull back the silicone tab on the side, pour slowly, then press the tab back until it seats. For the Plus, Innokin gives the size of the filling port, 4.3 by 3.8 mm, so a bottle with a fine nozzle makes life easier.
Does the whole pod need replacing when the flavour fades?
Yes, the coil is built into the pod. The manuals say to replace it as soon as there is a burnt taste or a clear drop in flavour and vapour. For the Mecha, Innokin suggests recharging first and only swapping the pod if the drop persists.
Does the Klypse Mecha take nic salt e-liquid?
Yes, Innokin says the Mecha works with both nicotine salt and freebase e-liquids. In the UK, whichever you choose, a nicotine e-liquid is capped at 20 mg/ml and sold in bottles of no more than 10 ml.
How do I lock the screen on the Klypse Mecha?
Hold the button for three seconds. With the screen locked, the Mecha still fires on the inhale but ignores any adjustment, so the wattage cannot be changed by accident. The same action unlocks it.
Innokin Klypse, matching the version to your draw
The choice depends less on the battery than on the controls. No buttons and nothing to set, the original Klypse. No buttons but airflow in your hands, the Plus, which remains our pick for a tight draw. Wattage to adjust, the Pro or the Mecha, the latter for anyone who wants a screen and a variable cut-off. The Zip sits on its own.
Whichever you pick, an Innokin Klypse is best judged by its 2 ml pod, the right resistance and five minutes of patience after the first fill. The same checklist works for the rest of mouth-to-lung kit, from pods to pen kits.
For tonight’s reading
- Vaptio Cosmo 2 guide, filling, coils and power levels for MTL
- Vaporesso Luxe X versions compared for a tight MTL draw
- Innokin Gozee coils, which Z Coil suits which draw
Written by Halo du Soir for adult readers only. Vaping products usually contain nicotine, which is addictive, and nicotine vaping products are not for sale to under-18s in the UK. Nothing on this page is a buying recommendation.